by Illinois New Teacher Collaborative ( / Apr 27, 2017, 7:00 AM

Engaging Communities and Developing Relationships

New teachers move from the community of their teacher preparation programs to the new ones of their professional lives. Learning to navigate local, school, and professional communities is a vital part of sustaining professional growth. This year’s combined Beginning Teacher Conference and Illini EDge Conference asks ‘How do we develop relationships within and across our communities that help us grow and our students flourish?

Join us as we explore these questions through sessions, keynote, panels, and extended learning opportunities in the local area. New teachers who are about to enter their first year and those who have just finished their first year will be in attendance, working together to systematically think about their practice and look ahead to next year.  

The Beginning Teacher Conference, in its 8th year, offers a valuable midsummer opportunity for new teachers to connect with others across the state, reflect on lessons learned in their first year, and prepare for a successful year ahead. The Illini EDge (formerly called Boot Camp), a conference targeted at UIUC grads about to enter their first year of teaching. This year’s conference will be held July 17-18, 2017, at the iHotel in Champaign, IL. You can find details about both conferences on our website.

by the College of Education at Illinois / Apr 27, 2017, 6:45 AM

Jennifer DelaneyHigher education funding expert Jennifer Delaney will serve on the editorial board of the journal Educational Researcher during 2017, with the possibility of a renewed appointment in 2018.

Delaney, an associate professor in the Department of Education Policy, Organization & Leadership, said it was an honor to be asked.

“I am excited about the opportunity to contribute to the flagship journal of the American Educational Research Association,” she said.

Published nine times a year, Educational Researcher releases articles of interest to the education research community and policymakers, with the objective of making major programmatic research and new findings of importance widely accessible. The subject matter in the pieces stem from a wide range of areas within the education field and related disciplines.

As an editorial board member, Delaney will review manuscripts and contribute to the peer-review process for the field. The editorial board of the journal is known as being diverse and comprised of experts in a wide variety of subject areas, disciplines, and specialties. The members will hold an April 28 meeting during the AERA Annual Meeting in San Antonio.

by Chip Bruce ( / Apr 26, 2017, 4:45 AM

Time: Tuesday, May 16, 10:00 am-noon

Place: Room 22, College of Education

Description: We think of progressive education as an early 20th century movement in U.S. schools, or perhaps as what occurs in modern, “progressive” schools, often small, private schools serving more privileged students. But the progressive impulse has been an important factor in many places and many eras. In Nepal today, there is a strong progressive education movement, one that I worked with during Fall 2016. That movement is especially noteworthy given the country’s extremely low resources (it’s a UN Least Developed Country). But many Nepalis see progressive education as aligned with their national education plan, whose goals include education for all, ages 4-12, community learning centers to deliver literacy and lifelong learning, and fully inclusive and equitable access.

Questions: How can Nepal essentially create an education system? How can knowledge, people, tools, and other resources from the West help? What can be learned from the Nepali experience, even though the Nepal situation is quite different from that in the U.S.?

by Chip Bruce ( / Apr 26, 2017, 4:45 AM

Time: Thursday, May 18, 10:00 am-noon

Place: Room 22, College of Education

Description: In a recent book, Why Knowledge Matters, E. D. Hirsch argues for a knowledge-intensive curriculum. Adopting a traditional stance toward learning, but one buttressed by recent cognitive science research, he sees knowledge as the key to becoming culturally literate and as the basis for learning more. In contrast, Sugata Mitra, best known for his "Hole in the Wall" experiment, is a leading proponent of  minimally invasive education. He claims that children in the rural slums of India could explore complex subjects in the absence of adult supervision and create a world of self-promoted learning. Essentially, learning is what matters, and the effort to transmit knowledge is unnecessary and counter productive.

Questions: What is knowledge? What is its role in education? Is that role changing due to the "worldwide cloud" of information? Are their alternatives to these extreme positions, or is one more correct?

by the College of Education at Illinois / Apr 25, 2017, 6:00 AM

Andrew HunteUtilizing the Travel Support for International Scholars funding he received, Andrew Anthony Hunte, Ph.D. ’16 C&I, will attend the April 27-May 1 AERA Annual Meeting in San Antonio. The award is offered by the International Relations Committee of AERA for outstanding scholarly work being presented at the conference by an international scholar.

While in San Antonio, Hunte said he is looking forward to networking with other scholars in the field of mathematics education. He will give an April 28 presentation titled “Reform-based instruction of reasoning and proof in Trinidad and Tobago,” which encompasses a study he conducted on how a secondary schoolteacher in Trinidad and Tobago implemented opportunities for reasoning and proof in geometry. Hunte’s findings could assist reformers and policymakers with understanding the interplay between reform-based policies and classroom instruction.

“This opportunity in San Antonio speaks to the excellence of how the College of Education at Illinois initiates in its international and U.S. doctoral graduates the ability to continue their scholarly work after graduation,” Hunte said. “Moreover, it demonstrates the exemplary instruction and mentorship provided through my doctoral adviser, Dr Gloriana Gonzàlez, as well as other instructors during my studies.”

Since graduating last year, Dr. Hunte has presented at international conferences in Germany and Arizona. He is an assistant professor of mathematics at the University of Trinidad and Tobago, where he teaches undergraduate engineering and education courses.

Hunte is also the program leader of the Department of Foundations and Prior Learning, overseeing multiple units that include the fields of mathematics, chemistry, physics, health, safety, and the environment.