College of Education

About Us Admissions & Academics Research & Engagement Departments & Faculty Current Students

College announces promotions of faculty, staff

by The College of Education / Oct 30, 2012

At the College's fall faculty meeting held earlier this month, unit leaders announced changes of status and key accomplishments within their respective units.

In addition, four faculty members from the College of Education have received promotions effective this academic year (below, left to right): Chris Higgins, EPOL, has been promoted to associate professor with indefinite tenure; Karrie Shogren, Special Education, has been promoted to associate professor with indefinite tenure; Cris Mayo, EPOL, has been promoted to full professor; and Katherine Ryan, Educational Psychology, has been promoted to full professor.

"Tenure in our College is highly prized and an acknowledgment of stellar performance that not only is a credit to each scholar but enhances the profile of our whole scholarly community," said Dean Mary Kalantzis. "We wish them heartfelt congratulations on their wonderful achievement."

The College is also pleased to announce the promotion of Deborah Lowe Morgan to Associate Director of Development. The title change recognizes her outstanding work in alumni relations, special events and stewardship, as well as her increased responsibilities in the major gift arena.  "Debbie has served as an excellent ambassador for the College and has put into place a solid stewardship program," Kalantzis said.