College of Education

About Us Admissions & Academics Research & Engagement Departments & Faculty Current Students

Recognizing Our College of Education Awardees

by Ashley Lawrence Pellegrini / May 24, 2023

The College of Education’s Faculty and Staff Awards Committee is pleased to announce the faculty, staff, and students who are recipients of the College’s 2022-23 annual awards. Honorees were recognized in person and virtually on May 10 at the College’s Spring Faculty Meeting at the Education building.

We also recognize the College’s faculty and students who have received 2023 College Research Awards that were announced at the Spring Faculty Meeting. Additionally, College of Education faculty and staff scheduled to retire this academic year were honored for their service. Please visit the College of Education Facebook page for photos and to congratulate our 2023 awardees. Congratulations to all on these accomplishments!

College of Education Faculty and Staff Awards

Distinguished Staff Award
Hannah Duran, Office of Undergraduate Programs

Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award
Lisa Kinderman, Educational Psychology

Outstanding Graduate Teaching Award
Denice Ward Hood, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership

Excellence in Online Teaching Award
Sharon Lee, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership

Outstanding Teaching Award for Teaching Assistants
Crystal Williams, Special Education

Outstanding Faculty Mentoring Award
Rodney Hopson, Educational Psychology

Outstanding Faculty Award for Public Engagement
H. Chad Lane, Educational Psychology

Spitze-Mather Faculty Award for Excellence
Jarrett Lewis, Educational Psychology

David Zola Distinguished Teaching Career Award
Anne Haas Dyson, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership

Excellence in Guiding Undergraduate Research

Chris Napolitano, Educational Psychology

Bureau of Educational Research Awards

Dissertation Award Winners

  • Nessrine Machaka, Curriculum & Instruction (adviser, Christina Krist)
  • Melanie Martin, Special Education (adviser, Hedda Meadan-Kaplansky)
  • Shuchi Sinha, Curriculum & Instruction (adviser, Arlette Willis)
  • Nina Owolabi, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership (adviser, Eboni Zamani-Gallaher)

Hardie Faculty Fellow Awards

  • Jarrett Lewis, Educational Psychology
  • Idalia Nuñez Cortez, Curriculum & Instruction

Hardie Distinguished Scholar Awards

  • P. Nigel Bosch, Educational Psychology
  • H. Chad Lane, Educational Psychology

Bureau of Educational Research Seed Grants

  • Changing Trauma Informed Attitudes: Catherine Corr, Special Education, PI; Mia Chudzik, Special Education Graduate Student, Co-PI
  • Designing an Open Lesson for Engaging Middle Grades Students in Design Justice: Gloriana Gonzalez, Curriculum & Instruction, PI​; Saadeddine Shehab, Siebel Center for Design, Co-PI
  • Building Networks and Collecting Data to Support Racial and Ethnic Faculty Diversity Within Higher Education: Melissa Goodnight, Educational Psychology, PI; Anthony Sullers, Jr., African American Studies, Co-PI; Terry Vaughn, The Pell Institute, Council for Opportunity in Education, Co-PI
  • (Re)constructing Teachers’ Views of Disability and Mathematics Capability: Erica Mason, Special Education, PI; Mynette Kretz, Urbana School District 116, Co-PI; Camille Griffin, Special Education Graduate Student
  • Navigating Cascades of Change Across Workplace Hierarchy: The Case of an Academic Library as an Educational Organization; Jennifer Nelson, Education Policy, Organization & Leadership, PI

College of Education 2023 Faculty and Staff Retirees

  • Dr. Carolyn Anderson, Educational Psychology
  • Brenda Clevenger, Council on Teacher Education (CoTE)
  • Dr. Nancy Latham, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs, Executive Director CoTE
  • Dr. James Shriner, Special Education