College of Education

About Us Admissions & Academics Research & Engagement Departments & Faculty Current Students

Professor Rosa Milagros Santos receives three awards for achievement, research, service in Special Education

by The College of Education / Mar 4, 2013

To say 2012-13 has been a banner year for Rosa Milagros Santos might just be an understatement.

Santos, an associate professor of Special Education, recently learned that she will receive the 2012-13 Alumni Achievement Award from her alma mater: the Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services at Utah State University.

The dean of the College of Education and Human Services at Utah State, Beth Foley, calls it "a most deserving honor in recognition of the honor Santos has brought to Utah State University and the College through outstanding service and achievements."

In addition, in April (as previously reported in College News) Santos will receive the Outstanding CEC Leadership award, an award that honors a Council for Exceptional Children (CEC) member who has made significant contributions to the council’s programs not only at the local and state/provincial level, but also on the national and international level, over an extended period of time. She and other award winners will be honored at CEC's annual convention in San Antonio, Texas.

The CEC is the largest international professional organization dedicated to improving the educational success of individuals with disabilities and/or gifts and talents.

"Professor Santos has been a leader within the Division for Early Childhood (DEC) of the Council for Exceptional Children for years. DEC is lucky to have Dr. Santos among its membership for she is deeply committed to CEC’s leading professional organization in early childhood special education," according to Michaelene Ostrosky, Goldstick Family Scholar and head of the Department of Special Education.

In October 2012, Santos was honored with another prestigious award, the Merle B. Karnes Service to the Division award by the Division for Early Childhood (DEC) of the CEC. This award is given to a DEC member who has made a significant contribution to the division in areas of leadership, service, research, advocacy, or publications.

"The fact that this prestigious award is named after Dr. Merle Karnes, a distinguished member of our faculty and who many consider as one of the founders of early childhood special education, is truly an honor," Santos said. "I never met Merle but I know and have heard so much about her work and to have my name be associated with hers through this award is very humbling."

Read more about Santos and the CEC Outstanding Leadership award…

Read more about Santos receiving the Merle B. Karnes Service to the Division award…

Photo courtesy of University of Illinois Alumni Association/Ned Mulka