College of Education

About Us Admissions & Academics Research & Engagement Departments & Faculty Current Students

Outstanding student medal winners, other academic honors announced for May 13 convocation

by The College of Education / May 1, 2012

General Graduation photoThe College of Education is pleased to announce that its 31st Convocation will be held on May 13, 2012. The College anticipates it will grant 481 degrees.

Three students are selected each year to address their class during convocation. The Education Alumni Association selects an undergraduate, a master’s student, and a Ph.D. candidate to receive an Outstanding Student Medal. The College is pleased to announce its 2012 recipients: Kelly Laxgang (Elementary Education), Shannon Irving (Special Education), and Erin Lynn Castro (EPOL).

Medal award winners must possess a superior level of scholarship within their department or program; demonstrate service to the department, college, university, and community; and provide leadership in the field of education. Congratulations to these three outstanding achievers!

The Office of the Chancellor has also announced Bronze Tablet candidates within the College of Education. Those listed in the bronze tablet are ranked in the upper three percent of their respective College's graduating class. This all-University honor has been bestowed since 1924, and is based on a student's cumulative GPA for all work completed through the academic term prior to graduation.

College of Education students who will have their names inscribed in the Bronze Tablet for 2012 will be Julia C. James, Laina Ruth Lagomarcino, Katelin E.Barker, Erika Janelle Foster, Kelsey M.Katz, Alanna Marie Krogstad, and Michelle Lauren Mitchem.

President's Award Program recipients are named each year as a way to honor minority students who have outstanding academic records as high school students, and who have maintained an excellent GPA throughout their undergraduate education. The 2012 President's Award Program scholars are Ashley Simon, Knycole Lee, Matthew Wascher, and Meghan Hosken.

The James Scholar Program in a University-wide program established to encourage undergraduate research and independent study. Students designated as James Scholars are entitled to certain academic privileges, including access to the infamous library "stacks," priority in registration, and official recognition on their transcript. James Scholars must maintain a 3.5 overall GPA.

James Scholar Program designees are: Jacqueline A. Alexander, Lydia J. Allen, Kaitlin M. Anderson, Jennie Aten, Rachel Balk, Katelin Barker, Mary E. Berger, Faith Chang, Elizabeth Chaps, Paige M. Cohen, Amanda Corcoran, Samantha A. Dalaskey, Amanda L. Dobrowski, Casey Dugan, Ariana Dymerski, Olivia Ebinger, Alyssa Fullerton, Molly Goldstein, Rosemary T. Hanley, Rebecca Iverson, Julia James, Mary Karagiannis, Kelsey Katz, Megan A. Kelley, Sarah Klaiber, Madeleine Kleinhample, Kacey Kraft, Alanna M. Krogstad, Samantha A. Larson, Kelly M. Laxgang, Nikki S. Levine, Laura J. Litwin, Makenzie Mann, Loren Martell, Ashley Mech, Michelle L. Mitchem, Aleksandra Ostojic, Laura M. Pastuovic, Christine M. Pawlowski, Amanda Peterson, Michelle Rawleigh, Amy R. Rhine, Kimberly D. Shamet, Jennifer B. Sheridan, Anna Smith, Lisa Virgilio, Corine M. Wegley, Katherine Weimer, Amanda M. Weller, and Adrienne Woolbright.

 Congratulations to all of you for your stellar academic performance!