College of Education

About Us Admissions & Academics Research & Engagement Departments & Faculty Current Students

Tettegah appointed to two White House technology groups

by The College of Education / Mar 1, 2012

photo of Sharon Tettegahphoto of Sharon TettegahSharon Tettegah, associate professor in the departments of Curriculum and Instruction and Educational Psychology, has been appointed to two White House technology groups: a Federal Games Action Group, and its sub-group, a federal games working group. Members of the group were selected to accomplish a set of defined tasks (i.e., research and development, project tracking, and collaboration).

The formal name of the sub-group is the Interagency Working Group on Digital Gaming Technologies, Subcommittee on Open Innovation, which is part of the Committee on Technology, National Science and Technology Council.

Members of the games working group will seek to improve communication and collaboration across the federal government programs, according to Tettegah. "We eventually hope to extend this communication to other stakeholders outside of the federal government to better coordinate cross-agency federal investments in games and philanthropic partners," she said.

Tettegah, who is also a program director for the National Science Foundation and a part-time faculty member in Beckman Institute’s Cognitive Neuroscience group, said that the invitation to participate in a working group from the White House's Office of Science, Technology & Policy (OSTP) groups is "highly exciting." She said she also appreciates that her "expertise is valued" by OSTP.