Main Menu Summer 2013

2010 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2010 Distinguished Alumni Award Winners

Bottom row, left to right: Dr. Ralph E. Reynolds, Dr. Tresa D. Dunbar, Dean Mary Kalantzis. Top row, left to right: Jaime Roundtree, Dr. Tweety Yates, Dr. J. Barton Luedeke. Not pictured: Dr. Jackie L. Davis.

Since 1995, the College of Education, in conjunction with the Education Alumni Association, has recognized the careers of our alumni who have demonstrated extraordinary contributions to the field. On April 10, 2010, we honored six outstanding alumni for their extraordinary achievements at a ceremony held at the Alice Campbell Alumni Center on the campus of the University of Illinois.

The 2010 Beginning Educator Award was presented to Champaign resident Jaime Roundtree. Receiving the Distinguished Alumni Awards were Dr. Jackie Davis, Dr. Tresa Dunbar, Dr. J. Barton Luedeke, Dr. Ralph Reynolds, and Dr. Tweety Yates. Dean Mary Kalantzis and members of the Education Alumni Association board participated in the program attended by family and friends of the recipients, and a number of current faculty, staff, and students.

This year's program included an Inaugural Graduate Student Conference held on Friday at the Education Building. Many of our award recipients had an opportunity to participate in the conference proceedings and to interact with the next generation of educators, policy makers, and researchers.

2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards Booklet

Download the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Awards Program (PDF)

We congratulate the 2010 Distinguished Alumni Award recipients, and welcome them to the list of prestigious alumni who have received these awards in the past. If you are interested in hearing more about this program, please contact Debbie Morgan, Assistant Director of Advancement, at (217) 244-7228 or email

2010 Distinguished Alumni

Dr. Jackie L. Davis
Human Resource Education, EdD., 2002
President of Olney Central College
Olney, Illinois

Dr. Jackie Davis received his A.S. from Lincoln Trail College, his B.S. from the University of the State of New York, an M.Ed. from the University of Southern California, an M.S. from Vanderbilt University, and his Ed.D from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has been a member of the United States Army, a director of financial aid and instructor at Lincoln Trail College, the Chief Academic Officer of the Illinois Eastern Community Colleges, an adjunct instructor at Illinois, and the Dean of Instruction and now President of Olney Central College.

Dr. Tresa Dunbar
Curriculum and Instruction, PhD., 1998
Principal, Henry Nash Elementary School
Chicago, Illinois

Dr. Tresa D. Dunbar received her B.S. degrees in Education and Psychology from Loyola University of Chicago and her M.Ed. and Ph.D. in education from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She previously taught at Nancy B. Jefferson Alternative School in the Cook County Juvenile Detention Center and was a Principal Consultant in the Office of Human Resources in the Chicago Public Schools. Currently, Dr. Dunbar serves as Principal of Henry H. Nash Elementary School in Chicago.

Dr. J. Barton Luedeke
Higher Education, PhD., 1971
President Emeritus, Rider University
Lawrenceville, New Jersey

Dr. Bart Luedeke earned his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois in 1971 and also holds degrees from Xavier University (OH) and Hanover College (IN), from which he also received an Honorary Doctor of Laws. Dr. Luedeke served as President of Rider University from 1990 until his retirement in 2003 and now holds the title of President Emeritus. Prior to 1990 he held the positions of Assistant to the President, Dean of Continuing Studies, and Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost.

Dr. Ralph Reynolds
Educational Psychology, PhD., 1979
Professor, University of Nevada-Las Vegas

Dr. Ralph E. Reynolds received his Ph.D. from the University of Illinois, College of Education, in 1979. His first academic position was in the Department of Educational Studies at the University of Utah where he served as Department Chair for 13 years, leading his department to its first-ever national ranking (US News and World Reports, 1998). He remained at Utah until July 2000 as Founder/Director of the University of Utah Reading Center. Dr. Reynolds joined the University of Nevada - Las Vegas faculty as Department Chair in August 2000. He relinquished this role in 2007 after leading this department to its first-ever national ranking (US News and World Reports, 2006).

Dr. Tweety Yates
Special Education, PhD., 1993
Department of Special Education, Children's Research Center
Champaign, Illinois

Dr. Tweety Yates received her doctorate in Early Childhood Special Education in 1993 from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Previously, Tweety served on the faculty in the Department of Rehabilitation and Special Education at Auburn University in Auburn, Alabama. She is currently a visiting research assistant professor at the University of Illinois and serving as Co-Project Coordinator of the Center on the Social Emotional Foundations for Early Learning. She also serves as faculty on an Early Reading First grant a focus on helping young children learn emergent literacy skills.

Mr. Jaime Roundtree, Beginning Educator Award Winner
Elementary Education, MS., 2005
Educator, South Side Elementary
Champaign, Illinois

Mr. Roundtree received his B.S. in History and a Masters in Elementary Education, both from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Currently, Jaime serves as a fifth grade teacher at South Side Elementary School in Champaign. Now in his second year of a two-year Master's program, Jaime is pursuing another Master's degree with certification as a school administrator.