Main Menu Summer 2013

College Newsletter

Message from the Dean



A Message from Dean Mary Kalantzis

With this edition of our College Newsletter, we are proud to share new developments in the College of Education at the University of Illinois.

The preparation of educators is one of the most significant contributions we make to society. With that in mind, we have redesigned our teacher education program so that it is central to our College and draws on the best faculty across each department.

Therefore, we are pleased to announce the launch of I-Teach I-Lead, a program that emphasizes collaboration, innovation, and cultural understanding, and at its core recognizes that new technology is changing the way we engage with learning and create knowledge. Producing knowledgeable, compassionate, resilient educators is the goal of our professional teacher preparation program. Concurrently, we also have created a new undergraduate degree for educators who are not seeking licensure but want to transform others in alternative settings in the U.S. and internationally.

The College is also delighted to welcome a new cadre of outstanding, collaborative, and tech-savvy faculty colleagues who are prepared to lead and engage in classrooms and online. We have always been proud of the fact that our practicum work is enhanced by professors who are themselves researchers, and these new instructors certainly fit that mold. This distinctive edge has produced many future teacher-leaders who graduate from our College with vast expertise and classroom skills.

In all our endeavors, we have tried to reinvent ourselves while maintaining our relevance in a world that continues to expect much from educators. We are ready to address the grand challenges of our time and hope that the stories highlighted in our newsletter convey our continued sense of innovation, progress, accomplishment, and excitement.

Mary Kalantzis
Professor and Dean

More stories in the current College of Education Newsletter...


Blog: Notes from the Dean

Periodic updates from College of Education Dean Mary Kalantzis.